12th Annual Leadership Summit

Friday, October 28th, 2016 @ Sheraton Boston Hotel

Scroll to Learn More


The Leadership Summit aims to illustrate the latest trends in preclinical and clinical research for neurodegeneration and the converging roles of the patient, venture philanthropist, and pharmaceutical company through a series of presentations and panel discussions. This year will feature the latest information about biomarkers in ALS as well as discussion about ALS clinical trial design. The free event will also include presentation of the Leadership Awards, recognizing individuals nominated by their peers within the ALS community for their efforts to end ALS. The Leadership Summit is free and open to the public. Click here to register!

2016 Schedule Coming Soon! Suggestions, email us at summit@als.net

Named for the people who have inspired our work, supported our mission, and fueled our spirit, the Leadership Awards honor those who lead us in the battle against ALS. Awards are presented at the Leadership Summit. Submit a nomination via email to summit@als.net or on our Facebook page. The deadline to submit nominations for this year's Leadership Awards is August 19, 2016.

Fran Delaney Challenge & Respect Award

This award is presented to a member of the ALS community who has shown true leadership within their community. The recipient of this award continually questions the science and research surrounding ALS and helps drive new initiatives to battle this disease. They challenge their community to take up the fight against ALS and help share the mission of ALS Therapy Development Institute. Through their involvement in fundraising and awareness events, this person demonstrates strong leadership in their community.

2015 Recipient

Beth Hebron

Past Recipients

2014 - Deb Quinn
2013 - Andy Rubenstein
2012 - Dr. Theresa Stephan Hains
2011 - Thomas Ohlson
2010 - Tim LaFollette
2009 - Michael Goldsmith
2008 - Emily Stoddard
2007 - Dave Virden, Jr.
2006 - General Tom Mikolajcik
2005 - Faye Magneson

View videos

Mary Lou Krauseneck Courage & Love Award

This award is presented to a member of the ALS community who has created a foundation of hope by maintaining a passion for live despite all obstacles. The recipient of this award inspires their community to fight alongside them in the battle against ALS. They understand the importance of keeping a positive attitude and remains committed to finding a cure. This person is a model of strength, courage, and love in their community.

2015 Recipient

Bobby Forster

Past Recipients

2014 - Steve & Hope Dezember
2013 - Jenny Gore Dwyer
2012 - Reverence Bill Hassel
2011 - Megan Mishork (posthumously)
2010 - Carla Zilbersmith
2009 - Michele Dupree
2008 - Carmen Hoyo, Pam Callahan
2007 - Darryl Goss, Robin Dorogusker
2006 - Shannon McLaughlin
2005 - Amy Whipple

View videos

Stephen Milne Adventurous Spirit Award

This award is presented to a member of the ALS community who strives to creatively combat ALS within their own community by searching for innovative ways to fundraise. The recipient of this award consistently and bravely explores new ground in fighting the disease and raising awareness. A commitment to excellence and ALS advocacy drives this person as they inspire their community to support the mission of ALS Therapy Development Institute.

2015 Recipients

Sarah Coglianese, Maureen Ramirez and Team Godfather

Past Recipients

2014 - Stephen Finger
2013 - Rich Cochran & Roger Petrone
2012 - Eric Engdahl
2011 - Sharon Isles
2010 - Eric Valor
2009 - CarolAnn Garrett
2008 - Mickey Butts
2007 - Jeff Repetto
2006 - Dick Sanderson, Brian Stanfield
2005 - Steve Lewis

View videos

Stephen Heywood Patients Today Award

This award is presented to a member of the ALS community who has proven to be a strong advocate for research and awareness. They consistently stay abreast of current research trends both in the US and abroad. This person challenges their community to collectively fight this disease while serving as an educator for those unfamiliar with ALS. They challenge ALS research institutions to focus on patients today in the hopes of accelerating a treatment and cure. They serve as a role model for patients today to find strength and determination to fight this disease each and every day.

2015 Recipients

Matt Bellina, Jay Smith

Past Recipients

2014 - Anthony Carbajal, Pat Quinn
2013 - Kevin Swan
2012 - Peter Frates, Rob Tison (posthumously)
2011 - Frank Provost
2010 - Steve Saling
2009 - Corey Reich
2008 - Ken Patterson
2007 - Scott Stafne
2006 - Jon Blais
2005 - Joe Shambo, Matt Dowd

View videos

Friday, November 13th

Sheraton Boston Hotel
39 Dalton Street
Boston, MA 02199
Subway: Green Line Prudential Stop
Map it!

Lab Tours

Thursday, November 12th - Sunday, November 14th
ALS Therapy Development Institute
300 Technology Square, 4th FL
Cambridge, MA 02139
Subway: Red Line Kendall/MIT
Map it!

Helpful Links

A White Coat Affair Gala

Saturday, October 29th, 2016 @ 6pm
Sheraton Boston Hotel
All proceeds go directly to research at ALS Therapy Development Institute

Purchase Tickets!

A White Coat Affair