The ALS TDI Leadership Awards are presented to people who have been nominated by our community for being excellent leaders in the ALS space. 

You can read the descriptions of the awards below and see the past award winners. Nominations for the 2022 Leadership Awards will be collected through August 31st, and you can email your nominations to

2022 Leadership Award Descriptions

Fran Delaney Challenge & Respect Award

This award is presented to a member of the ALS community who has shown true leadership by engaging the community to advocate for and accelerate research. Through involvement in fundraising and awareness events, this person demonstrates a unique ability to organize and inspire others to help end ALS. They challenge those around them to join the fight against ALS, and actively spread awareness of the ALS Therapy Development Institute’s work and mission.

Past Winners:  Faye Magneson, General Tom Mikolajcik, Dave Virden, Jr., Emily Stoddard, Michael Goldsmith, Tim LaFollette, Thomas Ohlson, Dr. Theresa Stephan Hains, Andy Rubenstein, Deb Quinn, Beth Hebron, The Gosnell Family, Rick Marks, Jeff Swick and PHAALS Foundation, Hugh Macdonnell, Mac and Bailey Brown

Mary Lou Krauseneck Courage & Love Award

This award is presented to a member of the ALS community who demonstrates unwavering courage and optimism. The recipient of this award selflessly leads by example to uplift and inspire those around them. They believe in the power of positivity and remain committed to finding treatments for ALS. This individual consistently serves as a model of strength, courage, and love in the ALS community.

Past Winners: Amy Whipple, Shannon McLaughlin, Darryl Goss, Robin Dorogusker, Carmen Hoyo, Pam Callahan, Michele Dupree, Carla Zilbersmith, Megan Mishork (posthumously), Reverend Bill Hassel, Jenny Gore Dwyer, Steve & Hope Dezember, Bobby Forster, Rusty Perry, Collin and Emily Hadley, Chris Curtin, Lisa Cross Bonahoom & Jamey Spakes, Patrick Liam Quinn & Katie Bauer

Stephen Milne Adventurous Spirit Award

This award is presented to a member of the ALS community who strives to find new and innovative ways to fundraise, advocate, and raise awareness for ALS research. The recipient of this award constantly explores bold new approaches to engage others in the fight to end ALS. They are driven by a commitment to excellence in ALS advocacy as they inspire their community to support the mission of the ALS Therapy Development Institute.

Past Winners: Steve Lewis, Dick Sanderson, Brian Stanfield, Jeff Repetto, Mickey Butts, CarolAnn Garratt, Eric Valor, Sharon Isles, Eric Engdahl, Rick Cochran & Roger Petrone, Stephen Finger, Sarah Coglianese & Maureen Ramirez and Team Godfather Charitable Foundation, Smith and Hanses Family, Michael "Boomer" Wallace, Patty Haberstroh, Glynis Murray, Teresa Thurtle

Stephen Heywood Patients Today Award

This award is presented to a person with ALS who has been an exemplary community advocate for ALS research and awareness. They are knowledgeable of current research, willing to inform the community about research trends and advancements, and eager to serve as an educator for those unfamiliar with ALS. They challenge ALS researchers to remain firmly planted within the ALS community and focus on people with ALS today, in the hope of accelerating treatments and cures as quickly as possible. This person is a role model for people with ALS, encouraging them to find the strength and determination to fight this disease through research every day.

Past Winners: Joe Shambo, Matt Dowd, Jon Blais, Scott Stafne, Ken Patterson, Corey Reich, Steve Saling, Frank Provost, Peter Frates & Rob Tison (posthumously), Kevin Swan, Anthony Carbajal, Pat Quinn, Matt Bellina & Jay Smith, Andrea Lytle Peet, Osiel and Bella Mendoza, Cory Burell, Brian Wallach, Phil Green and Sandy Morris, David & Scott Lloyd and Rahul Desikan M.D., Ph.D.